Posted on Leave a comment

2020 LBJ Liberty & Justice for All Award – U.S. Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg

#NotoriousRBG #RuthBaderGinsburg #Feminist
Did you see this?

On Jan. 30, 2020, the LBJ Foundation gave its most prestigious recognition, the LBJ Liberty & Justice for All Award, to Associate Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg of the Supreme Court of the United States.

The program was held at the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. The evening included NPR’s Nina Totenberg as the master of ceremonies; a conversation with Justice Ginsburg moderated by LBJ Foundation President and CEO, Mark K. Updegrove; music by singer-songwriter James Taylor and jazz harmonicist Frédéric Yonnet; readings by Golden Globe-nominated actress Constance Wu, Emmy Award-winning actress Holland Taylor, and Emmy Award-winning co-host of ABC’s “The View” Sunny Hostin; a tribute by Bill Moyers, White House Press Secretary for President Johnson; and an award presentation by Lynda Johnson Robb and Luci Baines Johnson.

/// About Justice Ginsburg

Ruth Bader Ginsburg was born in Brooklyn on March 15, 1933. She married Martin D. Ginsburg in 1954, and has a daughter, Jane, and a son, James. She received her B.A. from Cornell University, attended Harvard Law School, and received her LL.B. from Columbia Law School.

Justice Ginsburg served as a law clerk to the Honorable Edmund L. Palmieri, Judge of the United States District Court for the Southern District of New York, from 1959–1961. From 1961–1963, she was a research associate and then associate director of the Columbia Law School Project on International Procedure. She was a Professor of Law at Rutgers University School of Law from 1963–1972, and Columbia Law School from 1972–1980, and a fellow at the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences in Stanford, California from 1977–1978.

In 1971, she co-founded the Women’s Rights Project of the American Civil Liberties Union, and served as the ACLU’s General Counsel from 1973–1980, and on the National Board of Directors from 1974–1980. She served on the Board and Executive Committee of the American Bar Foundation from 1979-1989, on the Board of Editors of the American Bar Association Journal from 1972-1978, and on the Council of the American Law Institute from 1978-1993.

She was appointed a Judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit in 1980. President Clinton nominated her as an Associate Justice of the Supreme Court, and she took her seat August 10, 1993.

/// About the Award

The LBJ Liberty & Justice for All Award honors those who carry on President Lyndon Baines Johnson’s legacy, personifying the mission he defined as our country’s most basic: “to right wrong, to do justice, to serve man.”

Previous award recipients include Congressman John Lewis, President George H.W. Bush, Congressman John Dingell, Senator Carl Levin, Congressman James Clyburn, former Attorney General Eric Holder, President Jimmy Carter, David Rubenstein, Senator John McCain, and Speaker Nancy Pelosi.

Learn more:

~ From Youtube

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *